Mental Health and Psychiatric Care

Group leader: Álvaro Iruin Sanz, M.D., Ph.D.

Mental Health Network E-mail alvaro.iruinsanz@osakidetza.eus

Group leader: Andrea Gabilondo Cuellar, Ph.D.

Mental Health Network E-mail andrea.gabilondocuellar@osakidetza.eus
Dr. Álvaro Iruin Sanz has a Degree in Medicine and Surgery from the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU), specialising in Psychiatry. He is Leader of the Mental Health and Psychiatric Care Group at the Biodonostia HRI and Director of the Gipuzkoa Mental Health Network, of Osakidetza-SVS and member of the Basque Advisory Council on Mental Health. He has more than 33 publications to his name. Andrea Gabilondo Cuellar  is a psychiatric doctor with the Gipuzkoa Mental Health Network (Osakidetza), Doctor in Biomedicine and Master in Public Health from the Pompeu Fabra University, International Master in Mental Health Policies and Services from the Nova University in Lisbon. She has worked on the development of mental health prevention and promotion programmes and on research into the epidemiology of depression and suicidal behaviour, an activity she carried out at the Generalitat de Catalunya’s Public Health Department, the Institut Hospital del Mar d’investigacions Biomèdiques in Barcelona and at Osakidetza. She has participated in more than 45 publications including scientific articles, technical reports and clinical guides. She is a member of the team responsible for coordinating the Basque Suicide Prevention Strategy.

Strategic Objectives

  • Contribute to knowledge on risk factors and protection of mental health in adult and infant-youth population.
  • Design and assess new interventions that make more effective prevention and treatment possible for mental pathologies.
  • Contribute to knowledge on aspects of mental health service organisation, helping it to work better.

Main lines of research

Mental health in the adult population

  • Serious mental illness and Substance Use Disorder
  • Promotion and prevention in mental health.
    • Suicide prevention
    • Promotion of emotional wellbeing / prevention of mild mental disorder
    • Perinatal mental health
    • Epidemiology of mental disorders

Mental health in children and young people

  • Early detection of neurodevelopmental pathologies.
  • Risk and protection factors in the mental health of children and young people.

Research into mental health systems and policies

  • Analysis of the efficiency of mental health systems.

Team Members

Name Surname
Center E-mail
Jose Manuel Chouza Perez Red de Salud Mental josemanuel.chouzaperez@osakidetza.eus
Bidane González Mugerza UPV – EHU bidane.gonzalez@ehu.eus
Juan Carlos Irurzun Palacios Red de Salud Mental juancarlos.irurzunpalacios@osakidetza.eus
Idoia Iturbe Telleria UPV – EHU idoia.iturbe@ehu.eus
Xabier Lertxundi Aginaga Red de Salud Mental xabier.lertxundiaginaga@osakidetza.eus
Edurne Maiz Aldalur UPV – EHU edurne.maiz@ehu.eus
Luis Miguel Moreno Iñiguez Red de Salud Mental luismiguel.morenoiniguez@osakidetza.eus
Álvaro Múzquiz Jiménez Red de Salud Mental alvaro.muzquizjimenez@osakidetza.eus
Eva Pereda Pereda UPV – EHU eva.pereda@ehu.eus
Jose Ignacio Pérez Fernandez UPV – EHU joseignacio.perez@ehu.eus
Anna Riera Martin Red de Salud Mental anna.rieramartin@biodonostia.org
María Ruiz Iriondo Biodonostia HRI maria.ruiz@ehu.eus
Karmele Salaberria Irizar UPV – EHU mcarmen.salaberria@ehu.eus
Macarena Valencia Villareal Red de Salud Mental macarenadelrocio.valenciavillareal@biodonostia.org

 

Scientific Output

DASTATUZ 2019: APROXIMACION CUASI EXPERIMENTAL A LA CARACTERIZACION DE LOS FACTORES QUE INFLUYEN EN LA ACEPTACION DE NUEVOS ALIMENTOS POR PARTE DE LA POBLACION INFANTIL DIETA MATERNA Y METODO DE DESTETE
Código: 2019111080/BD
Investigador Principal (IP): EDURNE MAIZ ALDALUR
Entidad Financiadora: DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD
Fecha de Inicio: 2019-11-30
Fecha de finalización: 2024-06-30
Importe Concedido: 21.787,00 €
DETECCION PRECOZ DE PREDICTORES CLINICOS NEUROPSICOLOGICOS Y NEUROPSIQUIATRICOS SEVEROS EN PORTADORES ASINTOMATICOS Y SINTOMATICOS DE ENFERMEDAD DE HUNTINGTON
Código: 2019111004/BD
Investigador Principal (IP): ANDREA GABILONDO CUELLAR
Entidad Financiadora: DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD
Fecha de Inicio: 2019-11-30
Fecha de finalización: 2022-11-30
Importe Concedido: 1.142,00 €
DISEÑO Y PILOTAJE DE UN SISTEMA PARA LA VIGILANCIA CLINICA Y EPIDEMIOLOGICA DEL SUICIDIO EN EUSKADI
Código: 2019111020
Investigador Principal (IP): ANDREA GABILONDO CUELLAR
Entidad Financiadora: DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD
Fecha de Inicio: 2019-11-30
Fecha de finalización: 2022-12-31
Importe Concedido: 10.572,00 €
PREVENCION DEL SUICIDIO Y DE LA INFLAMACION MEDIANTE TELEMEDICINA
Código: 2017111104/BD
Investigador Principal (IP): ANDREA GABILONDO CUELLAR
Entidad Financiadora: DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD
Fecha de Inicio: 2017-12-21
Fecha de finalización: 2021-12-22
Importe Concedido: 2.347,58 €
PREVENCION DE CONDUCTA SUICIDA EN PACIENTES DE ALTO RIESGO CON TECNICAS DE TELEMEDICINA
Código: 2013111134
Investigador Principal (IP): ANDREA GABILONDO CUELLAR
Entidad Financiadora: DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD
Fecha de Inicio: 2013-12-20
Fecha de finalización: 2017-04-28
Importe Concedido: 13.100,00 €