Group co-leader: Patricia de la Riva

OSI Donostialdea, Biogipuzkoa Reasearch Fellow E-mail patricia.delarivajuez@osakidetza.eus

Group co-leader: Ileana Quiñones González, PhD

Biogipuzkoa Reasearch Fellow, Ikerbasque Science Foundation E-mail ILIANA.QUINONESGONZALEZ@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Patricia de la Riva graduated in Medicine and Surgery from the University of the Basque Country in 2009 and completed the MIR specialty in Neurology at the Donostia Hospital. She currently works as a medical specialist in the Neurology service of the Donostia Hospital within the hospitalization area and stroke unit. She is co-head of the ICTUS group at the Biogipuzkoa Health Research Institute. She is an associate professor of the subject of neurology at the Faculty of Health Sciences of the University of Deusto and a professor of the neurovascular expert specialization diploma at the University of Almeria. She participates in clinical trials in the area of stroke, she is the author of several top-level research articles and a member of the editorial board of the journal Neurology Perspectives. Dr. Ileana Quiñones co-directs the ICTUS group at the Biogipuzkoa Health Research Institute. She is a specialist in presurgical mapping of patients with brain injuries, with marked experience in advanced structural and functional neuroimaging techniques. Her resume demonstrates her contribution to the interface between neuroscience and clinical practice. She is a biologist by training, graduated from the University of Havana, Cuba. She expanded her academic training by earning a master’s degree in Cognitive Neuroscience at the same institution. Her career includes a specialization in techniques for recording and analyzing psychophysiological signals at the Neuroscience Center of Cuba, as well as in transcranial magnetic stimulation techniques, acquired at the Faculty of Psychology at the University of Glasgow, Scotland. She obtained a Doctorate in Linguistics from the University of the Basque Country, participating in the doctoral program of the Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language. From 2016 to 2023, she played a crucial role in the Language Neurobiology Group at the Basque Center on Cognition, Brain and Language, where she promoted a new line of research focused on investigating the mechanisms of functional and structural neuroplasticity that promote cognitive recovery in patients with brain injuries.

Strategic objectives:

The ICTUS research group of the Biogipuzkoa Health Research Institute maintains close ties with the stroke unit of the Donostia University Hospital (HUD), which provides centralized care to stroke patients throughout the province of Guipúzcoa and part of Navarra. Its area of direct influence covers 350,000 inhabitants and, as a tertiary center, it impacts approximately one million people. The unit, recognized in the Stroke Units accreditation program of the Spanish Society of Neurology since 2019, has an outstanding clinical-care track record that covers both ischemic and hemorrhagic strokes. In the field of research, the group is part of the national RICORS-ISCIII network as an associated clinical group and actively collaborates with the network of Stroke Units of Northern Spain (Nordictus), resulting in numerous publications in high-impact journals. In addition, it contributes to the RENISEN registry of patients with ischemic stroke, under the supervision of the Spanish Society of Neurology. The team is distinguished by its multidisciplinary approach, integrating specialized clinical professionals, such as neurologists specialized in neurovascular, vascular neuroradiologists, specialized nurses and neuropsychologists, as well as researchers in the area of neurosciences.


The group’s strategic objectives cover the following areas:

  • Clinical research in the area of stroke: Supporting answers to questions arising from medical care and addressing reorganization needs in care activity.
  • Pathophysiological characterization of stroke: Focused on diseases in the stroke area with less representation in the population, but of significant clinical relevance, such as subarachnoid hemorrhage and rare diseases such as CADASIL or multiple cavernomatosis.
  • Neuroplasticity: Exploration of anatomical-functional mechanisms that allow the brain to adapt to pathological situations that impact the architecture of the brain connectome.
  • Neuroanatomical Predictors: Research aimed at identifying indicators of cognitive-functional resilience through the comparison of different pathological models.
  • Post-Stroke Cognitive Intervention: Development of protocols that promote cognitive recovery after a stroke episode.


Main lines of research

  • Pathophysiology of Stroke: We explore the pathophysiological processes underlying stroke, deepening our understanding to drive advances in diagnosis and treatment.
  • Cerebrovascular diseases of rare etiology: We focus on specific cerebrovascular diseases, such as subarachnoid hemorrhage, as well as rare conditions of clinical relevance, such as CADASIL or multiple cavernomatosis, to expand knowledge and improve care for affected patients.
  • Cognitive-Functional Rehabilitation of Autonomous Patients: We develop rehabilitation strategies aimed at the cognitive-functional recovery of autonomous patients, integrating innovative approaches to optimize their quality of life.
  • Neuroplasticity in Pathological Situations: We investigate the mechanisms of neuroplasticity that allow the brain to adapt to pathological conditions, with the aim of identifying new therapeutic avenues and intervention strategies.
  • Application of Advanced Neuroimaging Techniques: We use advanced structural and functional neuroimaging techniques to thoroughly explore cerebrovascular diseases. Our research focuses on the application of cutting-edge tools to obtain a more precise and detailed understanding of the associated brain alterations.
Registro NORDICTUS de ictus del Norte España
Registro europeo de angiopatía amiloide adquirida.
Ictus-Cog. deterioro cognitivo posterior a ictus

Team Members

Name Surname Center E-mail
Maitane Alonso OSI Donostialdea MAITANE.ALONSOLACABE@osakidetza.eus
Maier Anabitarte OSI Donostialdea MAIER.ANABITARTEGONZALEZ@osakidetza.eus
Ana de Arce Borda OSI Donostialdea ANAMARIA.DEARCEBORDA@osakidetza.eus
Noemí Díez González OSI Donostialdea NOEMI.DIEZGONZALEZ@osakidetza.eus
Jon Equiza Bazán OSI Donostialdea jon.equizabazan@osakidetza.eus
Eñaut Garmendia OSI Donostialdea ENAUT.GARMENDIALOPETEGUI@osakidetza.eus
Elena González Holgado OSI Donostialdea ELENA.GONZALEZHOLGADO@osakidetza.eus
Félix González López OSI Donostialdea FELIX.GONZALEZLOPEZ@osakidetza.eus
Raquel Laspiur Gandara IIS Biogipuzkoa RAQUELSOFIA.LASPIURGANDARA@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Jose Ángel Larrea Peña OSI Donostialdea JOSEANGEL.LARREAPENA@osakidetza.eus
Arantza López de Turiso OSI Donostialdea ARANTZA.LOPEZDETURISOLOPEZ@osakidetza.eus
Alex Luttich OSI Donostialdea ALEXANDRE.LUeTTICHUROZ@osakidetza.eus
Macarena Marcos Osuna OSI Donostialdea MARIAMACARENA.MARCOSOSUNA@osakidetza.eus
Juan Marta Enguita OSI Donostildea, Universidad de Navarra, Universidad de Deusto JUAN.MARTAENGUITA@osakidetza.eus
Maite Martínez- Zabaleta OSI Donostialdea, UPV/EHU mariateresa.martinezzabaleta@osakidetza.eus

Scientific Output