Stem Cells and Aging

Group co-leader: Sonia Alonso-Martín Ph.D.

Biogipuzkoa HRI E-mail SONIA.ALONSOMARTIN@bio-gipuzkoa.eus

Group co-leader: Ander Izeta, Ph.D.

Biogipuzkoa HRI E-mail ANDER.IZETAPERMISAN@osakidetza.eus
Dr. Sonia Alonso-Martín, R3 researcher with more than 20 years of experience in stem cell research, joined IIS Biogipuzkoa after obtaining the Fellow Gipuzkoa contract for attracting and retaining talent (2019), after different stays at centers of excellence both national and international. She is an expert in the biology of skeletal muscle stem cells, their regenerative capacity, and their key role during aging in preserving muscle mass. Dr. Ander Izeta is head researcher of a consolidated Group at the Institute since 2010 and Area Head since 2024. In addition, he is section head of the Advanced Therapies Unit at the Donostialdea IHO, where he coordinates the technical aspects of the application of advanced therapies to patients from the Basque Country. He is an expert in stem cells, regenerative medicine and tissue engineering, with more than 20 years of experience applied primarily to skin and muscle.

Strategic Objectives

The main objective of the group is the consolidation of the lines of work that had been developing in the study of the neuromuscular junction, tissue aging and adult stem cells, and the creation of new lines of work derived from the synergy of experience in those fields.

Main lines of research

  • Description of the microenvironment of the neuromuscular junction and its deregulation associated with aging and neuromuscular pathology.
  • Study of the dysfunction of the transcription of long genes in aging and in pathologies associated with it.
  • Study of the role of skin cells in wound healing using RNA sequencing at the single cell level (scRNAseq) and positional transcriptomic analysis.
  • Study of the regenerative capacity of muscle stem cells in the context of ALS
  • Description of the secretome (extracellular vesicles) of skeletal muscle and its impact on ALS and cognitive decline associated with aging.
  • Development of therapeutic compounds to improve muscle function in the context of neurodegenerative diseases and metabolic deterioration associated with aging.
  • Development of an approach for the identification of new diagnostic markers in neurodegenerative diseases through digital molecular histology.
  • Development and preclinical validation of a tissue-engineered tympanic membrane substitute
  • Development of lymphatic vessels and in vitro models of tumor dissemination using 3D Bioprinting
  • Precision engineering with 3D biomaterials that contribute to the regeneration and improvement of the function of neurological damage.
  • Development of lung organoids for in vitro modeling of airway pathologies

 

Team Members

Name Surname Center E-mail
Pedro Alonso Álvarez Biogipuzkoa HRI pedro.alonsoalvarez@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Inazio Arriola Alvarez Biogipuzkoa HRI inazio.arriolaalvarez@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Ignacio Azcue Juaristi Biogipuzkoa HRI ignacio.azcuejuaristi@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Bahaa Daou Biogipuzkoa HRI/CIC Biomagune
Amaia Elicegui Aguirre Biogipuzkoa HRI amaia.eliceguiaguirre@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Sandra Fuertes Alvarez Biogipuzkoa HRI sandra.fuertesalvarez@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Mikel García Puga Biogipuzkoa HRI mikel.garciapuga@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Leire Gardeazabal Martinez De Espronceda Biogipuzkoa HRI leire.gardeazabalmartinezdeespronceda@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Ainhoa Irastorza Lorenzo Biogipuzkoa HRI ainhoa.irastorzalorenzo@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Maria Begoña Jimeno Badiola Donostialdea IHO mbegona.jimenobadiola@osakidetza.eus
Hector Lafuente Echevarria Biogipuzkoa HRI hector.lafuenteechevarria@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Nerea Ormaechea Pérez Donostialdea IHO
Oihane Pikatza Menoio Biogipuzkoa HRI oihane.pikatzamenoio@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Juan Manuel Salcedo Vera Biogipuzkoa HRI juanmanuel.salcedovera@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Susana Vildosola Esturo Donostialdea IHO susana.vildosolaesturo@osakidetza.eus
Laura Yndriago Acha Biogipuzkoa HRI laura.yndriagoacha@bio-gipuzkoa.eus
Ainhoa Vidal Gil Biogipuzkoa HRI ainhoa.vidalgil@bio-gipuzkoa.eus

Scientific Output

BIO3DCRON
Código: 2023111029/BD
Investigador Principal (IP): ANDER IZETA PERMISAN
Entidad Financiadora: DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD
Fecha de Inicio: 2023-11-01
Fecha de finalización: 2026-10-31
Importe Concedido: 32.044,13 €
ESTUDIO DE LA UNION NEUROMUSCULAR DURANTE EL DAÑO MUSCULAR EN LA ELA Y LOS CAMBIOS ASOCIADOS A LAS CELULAS DE SCHWANN TERMINALES EN UNA ETIOPATOGENIA PERIFERICA DE LA ENFERMEDAD
Código: 2023111035
Investigador Principal (IP): SONIA ALONSO MARTIN
Entidad Financiadora: DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD
Fecha de Inicio: 2023-12-01
Fecha de finalización: 2026-12-01
Importe Concedido: 186.635,40 €
DESARROLLO DE SUSTITUTOS BIOMIMETICOS DE LA MEMBRANA TIMPANICA PARA EL TRATAMIENTO DE PERFORACIONES CRONICAS
Código: 2023-CIEN-000013-01
Investigador Principal (IP): HECTOR LAFUENTE ECHEVARRIA
Entidad Financiadora: DIPUTACION FORAL GIPUZKOA
Fecha de Inicio: 2023-04-18
Fecha de finalización: 2024-09-30
Importe Concedido: 98.823,00 €
ITEAS - INVESTIGACION EN TERAPIAS AVANZADAS PARA LA RESOLUCION DE NECESIDADES MEDICAS NO RESUELTAS
Código: ZE-2022/00021
Investigador Principal (IP): HECTOR LAFUENTE ECHEVARRIA
Entidad Financiadora: DEPARTAMENTO DE DESARROLLO ECONOMICO, SOSTENIBILIDAD Y MEDIO AMBIENTE
Fecha de Inicio: 2022-04-15
Fecha de finalización: 2024-12-31
Importe Concedido: 21.400,38 €
PAPEL DEL MICROENTORNO DE LA UNION NEUROMUSCULAR EN LA DEGENERACION MUSCULOESQUELETICA ASOCIADA AL ENVEJECIMIENTO
Código: PI22/01247
Investigador Principal (IP): ANDER IZETA PERMISAN
Entidad Financiadora: ISCIII INSTITUTO DE SALUD CARLOS III
Fecha de Inicio: 2023-01-01
Fecha de finalización: 2025-12-31
Importe Concedido: 196.020,00 €
NUEVO ENFOQUE TERAPEUTICO DIRIGIDO AL MUSCULO ESQUELETICO EN LA ENFERMEDAD DE LA ELA
Código: PI22/00433
Investigador Principal (IP): SONIA ALONSO MARTIN
Entidad Financiadora: ISCIII INSTITUTO DE SALUD CARLOS III
Fecha de Inicio: 2023-01-01
Fecha de finalización: 2025-12-31
Importe Concedido: 202.070,00 €
ESTUDIO IN VITRO MEDIANTE BIOIMPRESION 3D DEL SISTEMA LINFATICO COMO POSIBLE VIA DE ENTRADA DEL SARS-COV 2 AL SNC
Código: 2020111004
Investigador Principal (IP): HECTOR LAFUENTE ECHEVARRIA
Entidad Financiadora: DEPARTAMENTO DE SALUD
Fecha de Inicio: 2020-12-01
Fecha de finalización: 2023-11-30
Importe Concedido: 37.691,50 €
ESTUDIO DE LA CAPACIDAD REGENERATIVA DE LAS CELULAS MADRE DEL MUSCULO EN LA ESCLEROSIS LATERAL AMIOTROFICA:IMPLICACIONES PARA UNA ETIOPATOGENIA PERIFERICA
Código: PI19/00175
Investigador Principal (IP): SONIA ALONSO MARTIN
Entidad Financiadora: ISCIII INSTITUTO DE SALUD CARLOS III
Fecha de Inicio: 2020-01-01
Fecha de finalización: 2024-06-30
Importe Concedido: 210.540,00 €