Molecular Oncology

Group leader: Charles Lawrie, Ph.D.

Biodonostia HRI. Ikerbasque Research Professor. charles.lawrie@biodonostia.org

Strategic Objectives

  • To understand the molecular pathogenesis of haematological diseases (and other types of cancer) and the translation of that knowledge to clinical environments.
  • To identify and develop new biomarkers for cancer diagnosis and prognosis.

Main lines of research

  • The identification and assessment of the utility of circulating microRNA/RNA as non-invasive cancer biomarkers.
  • Identification of factors behind drug resistance and new therapeutic procedures to treat cancer by using coding viral libraries for siRNA/microRNA.
  • Identification of new mutations on the site of target gene-microRNA interaction and in the sequence of the same microRNA associated with cancer.
  • Characterisation of the target miRNA:mRNA interface in cancer.

Team Members

Name Surname Center E-mail
María Araiz Ramírez Donostialdea IHO maria.araizramirez@osakidetza.eus
Angela Araujo Biodonostia HRI angela.araujo@biodonostia.org
Maria Arestín Muruzabal Biodonostia HRI maria.arestin@biodonostia.org
María Armesto Álvarez Biodonostia HRI maria.armesto@biodonostia.org
Esther Arnaiz González Biodonostia HRI esther.arnaiz@biodonostia.org
Laura Basterretxea Badiola Donostialdea IHO
Enrique Bengoechea Nerecan Donostialdea IHO  –
Izaskun Ceberio Echechipia Donostialdea IHO izaskun.ceberioechechipia@osakidetza.eus
Giovanni Di Pinto Biodonostia HRI giovanni.dipinto@biodonostia.org
Gartze Mentxaka Miranda Biodonostia HRI gartze.mentxaka@biodonostia.org
Carla Solé Cañadas Biodonostia HRI carla.sole@biodonostia.org
Maitena Tellaeche Abete Biodonostia HRI maitena.tellaeche@biodonostia.org

 

Scientific Output

Projects

Page under construction.
We are working to show the Projects and Patents.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused