Environmental Epidemiology and Child Development

Group leader: Jesús Ibarluzea, Ph.D.

Dept. Health – Provincial Health and Addictions Authority of Gipuzkoa.
Sub-directorate of Public Health of Gipuzkoa
mambien3-san@euskadi.eus

Strategic Objectives

INMA Project (Childhood and Environment). A multi-centre monitoring project in which cohorts from Menorca, Sabadell, Granada, Valencia, Asturias and Gipuzkoa participate, and which studies the relationship between exposure to environmental agents and childhood development. The cohort monitoring phases of pregnant women and their children have been carried out, during pregnancy (every three months), at birth, at one year, and at the age of 2 and 4. The next step is to monitor the phases at age 7 and 10.

  • To describe the exposure to common contaminants, from the first to the fourth year of life: atmospheric pollution, by products derived from disinfecting the water. To analyse the evolution over time.
  • To measure the association between pre-natal and post-natal exposure to atmospheric contaminants and pollutants in drinking water and children’s physical and neurobehavioural development at the ages of 2 and 4 years old.
  • To measure the association between pre-natal exposure to pollutants such as POPs and heavy metals (umbilical cord) and the neurobehavioural development of a child at the ages of 2 and 4, analysing the coherence with the results obtained at the age of one year.
  • To assess the role of the quality of domestic ecology, the parents’ degree of intelligence, social support network and social class in the neurobehavioural development, sociodemographic determining factors, health and healthy habits: pregnancy and early childhood.
  • To integrate the data from this study with those from the other cohorts in the INMA Project.

Main lines of research

  • Environmental and atmospheric pollution, drinking water contamination, diet and health.
  • Effects of interior and exterior atmospheric pollution and contamination of drinking water and for domestic use in neurodevelopment and respiratory diseases.
  • Association between pre-natal exposure and during the early years of life to pollutants such as POPs, endocrine disruptors and heavy metals, and neurobehavioural development in childhood.
  • Development, application and/or adaptation of the different scales and testing to assess neurobehavioural and domestic aspects (Etxadi-Gangoiti), school environment and other scales in childhood. Relationship of the aspects of the family structure and function, and cognitive development.
  • Sociodemographic and health determining factors during pregnancy and early childhood.
  • Obesity and metabolic disorder in childhood.
  • Assessment of the physical environmental agents and their effect on health.

Team Members

Name Surname
Center E-mail
Joana Acha Morcillo UPV – EHU joana.acha@ehu.eus
Jon Iñaki Alvarez Uriarte Public Health Subdirection ji-alvarezuriarte@euskadi.eus
Asier Anabitarte Riol Public Health Subdirection a.anabitarteriol@gmail.com
Ainara Andiarena Villaverde UPV – EHU ainara.andiarena@ehu.es
Aritz Aranbarri Paredes UPV – EHU aritz.aranbarri@ehu.eus
Enrique Arranz Freijo UPV – EHU e.arranzfreijo@ehu.es
Juan José Aurrecoechea Aguirre  Dep. Health Subdirection – PH Gipuzkoa  
Mikel Ayerdi Barandiaran Dep. Health Subdirection – PH Gipuzkoa esk-tolosa4@euskadi.eus
Izaro Babarro Vélez Dep. Health Subdirection – PH Gipuzkoa
Florencia Barreto Zarza UPV – EHU flor.barreto@ehu.eus
Miguel Basterretxea Irurzun Dep. Health Subdirection – PH Gipuzkoa epidem1-san@euskadi.eus
Eduardo Fano Ardanaz          UPV – EHU eduardo.fano@ehu.es
Mara Gallastegui Bilbao Biodonostia HRI m-gallasteguibilbao@euskadi.eus
Arantxa Gorostiaga Manterola UPV – EHU arantxa.gorostiaga@ehu.es
David Guerra Pereda UPV – EHU david.guerra@ehu.es
Amaia Irizar Loibide Public Health Subdirection amaia.loibide@gmail.com
Ana María Jiménez Zabala    Public Health Subdirection mambien1-san@euskadi.eus
Isabel Larrañaga Padilla Dep. Health Subdirection – PH Gipuzkoa ilarranaga@euskadi.eus
Nerea Lertxundi Iribar UPV – EHU nerea.lertxundi@ehu.es
Aitana Lertxundi Manterola      UPV – EHU aitana.lertxundi@ehu.eus
Mª Dolores Martínez López De Dicastillo Dep. Environment and Land Planning dml-martinez@euskadi.eus
Madalen Oribe Amores UPV – EHU mada8722@gmail.com
Manuel Sánchez de Miguel UPV-EHU manu.sanchez@ehu.es
Loreto Santa Marina Rodríguez  Dep. Health Subdirection – PH Gipuzkoa ambien4ss-san@euskadi.eus
Mikel Subiza Pérez Dep. Salud – Subdirección SP Gipuzkoa m-subiza@euskadi.eus
Nerea Urbieta Macazaga Dep. Health Subdirection – PH Gipuzkoa
Oscar Vegas Moreno UPV – EHU o.vegas@ehu.es
Carlos Zabaleta Camino Goierri-Alto Urola IHO carlos.zabaletacamino@osakidetza.eus
Miren Begoña Zubero Oleagoitia UPV – EHU mirenbegona.zubero@ehu.eus

Scientific Output

Projects

Projects 2 / 2

Nuevo sistema de control y estabilización de una elevada calidad del aire interior de los edificios en el tiempo con mejor funcionamiento de la eficiencia energética.

Investigador principal: Jesús María Ibarluzea Maurolagoitia. Entidad financiadora: Gobierno Vasco, Departamento de Desarrollo Económico y Competitividad. Año inicio: 2014. Año final: 2016.

Caracterización de la exposición a campos electromagnéticos de radiación no ionizante en los niños de la cohorte INMA-Gipuzkoa.

Investigador principal: Jesus María Ibarluzea Maurolagoitia. Entidad financiadora: ISCIII Instituto de Salud Carlos III. Año inicio: 2013. Año final 2016.