Tissue Engineering

Group leader: Ander Izeta, Ph.D.

Biodonostia HRI ander.izeta@biodonostia.org

Strategic Objectives

The central objective is to elucidate the ontogeny, expansion and differentiation capacity of precursor cells in human and mouse dermis, with the ultimate purpose of facilitating their therapeutic use through the generation of tissue engineering constructs and/or helping to clarify their possible contribution to carcinogenic processes or other types of pathologies.

Main lines of research

  • Basic research into the ontogeny of isolated mesodermal and neurogenic lineages of human and mouse dermis (lineage records) and their drift towards neural and musculoskeletal lineages.
  • Pre-clinical research to advance towards the clinical use of precursor skin cells. Their utility in different animal models is being explored (muscle damage, chronic rotator cuff damage, distraction osteogenesis or Alzheimer’s) through a range of collaborations.
  • Clinical trials to analyse the efficacy and safety of autologous hair follicle transplants to cure chronic ulcers.
  • Study of the implication of precursor cells in the etiopathogenesis of dermal neurofibromas or other derived tumours of the peripheral nervous system and/or the neural crest.
  • Studies related to precursor cells and industrial applications in the field of cosmetics.

Team Members

Name Surname Center E-mail
Sandra Fuertes Alvarez Biodonostia HRI sandra.fuertes@biodonostia.org
Carmen Garde Orbaiz Donostialdea IHO mariacarmen.gardeorbaiz@osakidetza.eus
Leire Gardeazabal Martinez De Espronceda Biodonostia HRI leire.gardeazabal@biodonostia.org
Maria Begoña Jimeno Badiola Donostialdea IHO mbegona.jimenobadiola@osakidetza.eus
Hector Lafuente Echevarria Biodonostia HRI hector.lafuente@biodonostia.org
Nerea Ormaechea Pérez Donostialdea IHO
Virginia Pérez López Biodonostia HRI virginia.perez@biodonostia.org
Juan Pablo Sanz Jaca Donostialdea IHO juanpablo.sanzjaka@osakidetza.eus
Susana Vildosola Esturo Donostialdea IHO susana.vildosolaesturo@osakidetza.eus
Laura Yndriago Acha Biodonostia HRI laura.yndriago@biodonostia.org

Scientific Output

Projects

Projects 5 / 5

Caracterización funcional de las células troncales adultas SOX2 positivas en la Dermis humana y murina.

Investigador principal: Ander Izeta Permisán. Entidad financiadora: ISCIII Instituto de Salud Carlos III. Año inicio: 2014. Año final: 2016.

Implicación de los microRNAs en la actualidad y resistencia a Sunitinib en carcinoma renal de células claras y asociados al envejecimiento.

Investigador principal: Juan Pablo Sanz Jaca. Entidad financiadora: Gobierno Vasco, Departamento de Salud. Año inicio: 2014. Año final: 2017.

Regenerative Sphincter Therapy (REST).

Investigador principal: Ander Izeta Permisán. Entidad financiadora: European Cooperation in Science and Technology Cost. Año inicio: 2013. Año final: 2017.

Strategies to promote vascularization in skeletal muscle tissue engineered constructs.

Investigador principal: Ander Izeta Permisán. Entidad financiadora: POCTEFA-Interreg IV A. Año inicio: 2013. Año final: 2015.

Hueso inyectable para el tratamiento de fracturas, combinando hidrogeles de última generación y productos alogénicos.

Investigador principal: Ander Izeta Permisán. Entidad financiadora: Gobierno de España, Ministerio de Economía y Competitividad. Año inicio: 2012. Año final: 2015.